Settings for companies and people

Option

Description

Data File

Browse to select the data upload file you want to use.

When you open a previously saved data upload, this option shows the selected data upload file name and it cannot be changed.

When you open a previously saved data upload that was run and generated errors or duplicate records, the following additional options are available:

  • Use Data File. Reruns data upload using the original data upload file.
    Warning: Use this option with extreme caution, as it may create duplicate records or overwrite data on your system.
  • Use Error File. Reruns data upload only for those records that generated errors during the last data upload attempt.
  • Use Duplicate File. Reruns data upload only for duplicate records that were detected during the last data upload attempt.
  • View Error File. Opens the data upload error file generated during the last data upload attempt.

Select From Existing Mappings

Allows you to reuse column to field mappings configured for previous data uploads.

You can use this option if your new data upload file has the same columns as one of the files you uploaded previously.

This option is available only if you have uploaded companies or people at least once.

Description

Enter an informative description for your data upload.

Sage CRM uses this description to identify your data upload in the user interface.

File Date Format

Select the date format used in your data upload file.

Note: All dates in your data upload file must have an identical format.

Merge Rule

Select how you want to treat duplicate records during your data upload.

You can either merge duplicate records with the matching existing records or completely overwrite the matching existing records with the records from your data upload file.

Max Contacts Per Row

Specify the maximum number of person records each row of the data upload file contains.

Note: Always keep the default value in this option.

Max Addresses Per Row

Specify the maximum number of addresses on each row of the data upload file.

Preview Rows

Specify the number of data upload file rows you want to preview before you start uploading data to Sage CRM.

Max Notes Per Row

Specify the maximum number of notes on each row of the data upload file.

Make a Group

Select this check box to create a group for your data upload in Sage CRM. The group includes all records that were created in Sage CRM during the data upload. If you select this check box, you can use the Groups tab in Sage CRM to view the records created by your data upload.

Overwrite Person Default Address

Replaces the person's default address with the one added to Sage CRM during data upload. When this check box is selected, the new address is also added as a company address.

If there is more than one address for a person in the data upload file, the first address becomes the default one.

Map Selection Fields to Codes

When this option is selected, the system tries to match selection field translations from your CSV file to caption codes in Sage CRM. For example, a person title of Chief Executive Officer gets mapped to the caption code CEO, and stored in the database. If a selection does not yet exist in Sage CRM, it gets added to the database. In this case, the caption code will be the same as the selection.

When this option is not selected, selection list choices entered in the CSV file as translations rather than caption codes are not added to the database. The translation, for example, Chief Executive Officer, is displayed on the person summary page for viewing, but not added to the database. This means that when you select Change, you must set the drop-down field to a selection that already exists in the Sage CRM database.